Conversation, Debates, Dishonest Tactics, Politics

Cryptic nonsense

Dear Diary,

I suppose I don’t know if this post really has a point, but let’s give it a shot anyways.

Cryptic nonsense. We all deal with. Some deal it like it’s a drug to the people around them, others are force-fed it and either smile and like it or spit it out with disgust and ask for something better.

So what am i saying? Cause it’s all rather cryptic at this point. So here, let’s spell it out.

I often find myself in a situation where I disagree with something. It’s either religious, political, social, scientific, some sort of issue I have to deal with where there is a clear disagreement that…. probably neither party will change their mind. That’s fine, I’m okay with disagreement. I don’t make the nonsense statement that it makes the world more interesting, but I certainly accept it and don’t resent the world for it. However a lot of the times I just desperately want to understand what the person is saying. What is the point of their statements? What is it that they’re trying to get at? Do they have a central point? Is this just emotions that don’t seem to have any connection to goals or needs or wants?

I’m often left in this state where I drop the fact that I disagree with them, apologize if they claim I’ve been mean or rude or whatever word they want to throw on me to try and put me on the defensive, and then ask them to elaborate.

What I get is cryptic nonsense. I ask someone what they mean by a “Slippery slope” and they say some story about some governor or something or other that doesn’t seem to really tie to what we’re talking about at all. They often change the topic completely as if they haven’t, pointing out some other hypocrisy that I might even agree with but don’t see the connection to our topic. It’s an endless chain is the worst part. Cause then I ask how that connects to the topic and they say something else that seems random and non-important.

As I go down this path, trying to take them seriously and hear them out and understand them, because I desperately want to not leave this conversation without at least understanding of their point… I come to the realization that I’ll never get the answers I’m looking for. This isn’t about disagreement, this isn’t about debating, simply understanding. I simple want to understand them so I can better access my feelings about hem. However this is simply a waste of my time, I will never get my answers.

So when I say cryptic nonsense, this is what I mean. Cryptic is an adjective meaning hidden. So I suppose I don’t mean “hidden nonsense” but rather “Nonsense that is purposefully hiding what I want to know.” This is an impossible game I’ll never win. They’ll either change the subject or say something so lacking of substance it’s hard to believe it ever got brought up in the first place. Their statements flow into a river and dissolve into it’s waters and I couldn’t begin to piece together what they’re throwing in their even if I had eternity.

This is simply frustrating. It leaves in me a state of distatste for them, which is a shame since I’d much rather like people then dislike them.

Sincerely

CrypticBulbosaur

Standard

Leave a comment